The Turner County Board of Commissioners met on Monday, August 18, 2014 at 6:00 p.m. for a called "advertised" meeting at the Turner County Courthouse Annex Building with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Hall, Hudgins and McCard all present for the meeting. Staff present were Mary J. Wynn, County Manager, Latrice Wilson, County Clerk and John Holland, County Attorney. Others present were Janet Winter, Election Superintendent, Sheriff Andy Hester, Chief Deputy Charles Dean, Nick Denham and Marie Hudgins.

Chairman McCard called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

Commissioner Hudgins gave the invocation.

Motion by Commissioner Hudgins seconded by Commissioner Burgess to adopt Resolution #2014-08-01 setting the 2014 tax levy for the maintenance and operation of county affairs at 16.019 mills and 16.00 mills for the maintenance and operation of public schools in Turner County and .10 mills for the State of Georgia making a total of 32.12 mills for the year 2014 tax year, motion passed, with Commissioners Calhoun, Hudgins and McCard all voting in favor of the motion. Commissioner Burgess and Commissioner Hall opposed the motion due to the school board increase in mills.

Motion by Commissioner Calhoun seconded by Commissioner Hudgins to authorize Sheriff Andy Hester to obtain credit cards in the Sheriff's Office name and the credit limit on all cards issued to the Sheriff's Office are as follows: Card # 1, \$5,000.00 (issued to Sheriff Andy Hester); Card #2, \$5,000.00 (issued to Chief Deputy Charles Dean); Card #3, \$5,000.00 (issued to Lieutenant Jeanette Reckley); Card #4, \$10,000.00 (issued to Captain Troy Morris) and Card #5, \$1,500.00 (issued to Sheriff's Office), motion passed, with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Hall, Hudgins and McCard all voting in favor of the motion.

The Sheriff stated he would be responsible for reconciling the monthly credit card statement of all cards issued to the Sheriff's Office and he would submit documentation/receipts with line item written on it to the Administrative Office in a timely manner for payment.

Motion by Commissioner Calhoun seconded by Commissioner Hudgins to enter into closed session for the purpose of personnel at 6:13 p.m., motion passed, with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Hall, Hudgins and McCard all voting in favor of the motion.

Motion by Commissioner Burgess seconded by Commissioner Hudgins to return back to the regular portion of the meeting at 6:32 p.m., motion passed, with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Hall, Hudgins and McCard all voting in favor of the motion.

Motion by Commissioner Hall to adjourn the meeting at 6:32 p.m.

Sam McCard, Chairman	
Attest:	
	Latrice L. Wilson, County Clerk