Turner County Board of Commissioners met on Tuesday, October 4, 2016 at 6:00 p.m. at the Turner County Agricultural Center for the regular monthly board meeting with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, Hall and McCard present for the meeting. Staff present were Horace Hudgins, Interim County Manager, Latrice Wilson, County Clerk and John Holland, County Attorney. Others present were Ben Baker, Editor of the Wiregrass Farmer, Sheriff Andy Hester and Chief Deputy Charles Dean.

Chairman Calhoun called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

Commissioner Hall gave the invocation.

Motion by Commissioner Burgess seconded by Commissioner Hall to adopt the agenda as printed, motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, Hall and McCard voting in favor of the motion.

Motion by Commissioner Hall seconded by Commissioner Burgess to approve financial information for August 2016 as printed, motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, Hall and McCard voting in favor of the motion.

Motion by Commissioner Burgess seconded by Commissioner Hall to approve meeting minutes of previous meetings as printed, motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, Hall and McCard voting in favor of the motion.

Motion by Commissioner Hall seconded by Commissioner Burgess to approve 5311 Transit Operating/Capital Program Contract for FY 2017 between the Department of Transportation and Turner County and authorize the Chairman to sign agreement on behalf of the County, motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, Hall and McCard voting in favor of the motion.

Sheriff Andy Hester gave an update on his department. He stated his deputies are staying busy by writing citations, responding to call for services, issuing warrants, civil papers and providing lawn care to 24 County properties. He stated he appreciate the Board for working with him on his budget.

Motion by Commissioner Denham seconded by Commissioner Hall to enter into closed session at 6:12 p.m. for the purpose of personnel, motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, Hall and McCard voting in favor of the motion.

Motion by Commissioner Burgess seconded by Commissioner Hall to enter back into the regular portion of the meeting at 6:37 p.m., motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, Hall and McCard voting in favor of the motion.

The meeting adjourned at 6:39 p.m.

Brad Calhoun, Chairman

Attest:

Latrice L. Wilson, County Clerk