The Turner County Board of Commissioners met on Tuesday, January 2, 2018 at 6:00 p.m. at the Turner County Agricultural Center for the monthly Work Session Meeting with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, Hall and McCard present for the meeting. Staff present were Latrice Wilson, County Clerk and John Holland, County Attorney. Others present were Ben Baker, Editor of the Wiregrass Farmer, Mark Robinson, Fire Chief/EMA Director, Shelly Robinson and Janet Winter, Election Superintendent.

Chairman McCard called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

Commissioner Hall gave the invocation.

Motion by Commissioner Calhoun seconded by Commissioner McCard to appoint Commissioner Denham as Chairman for 2018, motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, Hall and McCard voting in favor of the motion

Motion by Commissioner Burgess seconded by Commissioner McCard to appoint Commission Hall as Vice-Chairman for 2018, motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Denham, Hall and McCard voting in favor of the motion. Commissioner Calhoun abstained from voting.

Motion by Commissioner Burgess seconded by Commissioner Calhoun to reappoint Latrice Wilson as County Clerk, motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, Hall and McCard voting in favor of the motion.

Motion by Commissioner Burgess seconded by Commissioner Calhoun to reappoint John Holland as County Attorney, motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, Hall and McCard voting in favor of the motion.

Motion by Commissioner Burgess seconded by Commissioner Hall to adopt the agenda as printed, motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, Hall and McCard voting in favor of the motion.

Motion by Commissioner Burgess seconded by Commissioner Calhoun to approve financial information for November 2017 as presented, motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, Hall and McCard voting in favor of the motion.

Motion by Commissioner Burgess seconded by Commissioner Hall to approve minutes of previous meeting as printed, motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, Hall and McCard voting in favor of the motion.

Commissioners agreed to table item # 5 accepting Third Party Operator Agreement from MIDS Transportation, Inc for 5311 Transit Program for Turner County.

Commissioners agreed to table item # 6 adopting Resolution #2017-12-01 authorizing the filing of FY 2019 Grant Application with the Georgia Department of Transportation and the United States Department of Transportation for a grant for public transportation assistance under Section 5311 of the federal transit laws under Chapter 53 of Title 49 of the United States Code and authorize the Chairman to sign resolution on behalf of the County.

Motion by Commissioner Calhoun seconded by Commissioner Hall to adopt Resolution # 2017-12-02 authorizing participation in the ACCG-Inter Local Risk Management Agency supplemental medical, accident, and disability fund for firefighter cancer coverage and authorize

the Chairman to sign resolution on behalf of the County, motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, Hall and McCard voting in favor of the motion.

Motion by Commissioner McCard seconded by Commissioner Burgess to approve intergovernmental agreement between Turner County Development Authority and Turner County for road construction (Flash Foods) project for Access Road at Gorday Drive, motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, Hall and McCard voting in favor of the motion.

Motion by Commissioner Calhoun seconded by Commissioner Hall to accept a quit claim deed between Turner County Development Authority and Turner County for recombination plat, property of Alexander-Harper Property, LLC, motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, Hall and McCard voting in favor of the motion.

Motion by Commissioner Calhoun seconded by Commissioner McCard to appoint Commissioner Hall to the Region 4 Advisory Council for Turner County, motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, Hall and McCard voting in favor of the motion.

Motion by Commissioner Hall seconded by Commissioner Calhoun to adopt Resolution 2018-01-01 to set and publish qualification fees for county offices for the 2018 Elections as follows: County Commissioner at \$180.00 and Board of Education Member at \$90.00 and authorize the Chairman to sign resolution on behalf of the County, motion passed with Commissioner Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, Hall and McCard voting in favor of the motion.

Motion by Commissioner Calhoun seconded by Commissioner Burgess to absorb the garbage rate increase for residential containers at 1.9% and for oil/energy increase at \$.04 and leaving garbage rate for residential customers at \$20.00 per month, motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, Hall and McCard voting in favor of the motion.

Motion by Commissioner Burgess seconded by Commissioner McCard to approve Executive Session Minutes from Monday, December 11, 2017, motion passed with Commissioner Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, Hall and McCard voting in favor of the motion.

Public Comments: There were none.

Motion by Commissioner Calhoun to adjourn the meeting at 6:18 p.m.

Nick Denham, Chairman	
Attest:	
	Latrice L. Wilson, County Clerk