The Turner County Board of Commissioners met on Tuesday, January 4, 2022, at 6:00 p.m. at the Turner County Agricultural Center for the monthly Board Meeting with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, Weaver and Whiddon present. Staff present were Joseph Saxon, County Manager and Latrice Wilson, County Clerk. Others present were Mr. Jimmy Wynn, Mrs. Mary Wynn, Mrs. Eva Lynn Holland, Robby Royal, EMS Director, Honorable Blake Christian, Magistrate Judge, Mandy Cole, Shannon Stephens, Recreation Director, Dustin Beaty, Public Works Director, Chief Deputy Charles Dean, Sheriff Andy Hester, Mr. Ben Baker, Editor of the Wiregrass Farmer, Mr. Sam McCard, Mr. Ray Holland, Mr. Brent James, Mr. Raleigh Rollings and Janet Winter, Elections Superintendent.

Chairman Calhoun called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m. and welcomed everyone.

Mr. Ben Baker gave the invocation.

Special Presentation: Commissioners presented at plaque to County Attorney John Holland on his retirement as County Attorney for 30 plus years of service.

Commissioners considered the rotation of Chairman for FY 2022 starting with District 1, Commissioner Joe E. Burgess, he declined the appointment, District 2, Commissioner Allen Weaver, he declined the appointment, District 3, Commissioner Dana L. Whiddon, Mrs. Whiddon accepted the appointment of Chairman for FY 2022.

Motion by Commissioner Calhoun seconded by Commissioner Burgess to appoint Commissioner Denham as Vice-Chairman for FY 2022, motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, Weaver and Whiddon voting in favor of the motion.

Motion by Commissioner Burgess seconded by Commissioner Calhoun to re-appoint Latrice Wilson as County Clerk, motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, Weaver and Whiddon voting in favor of the motion.

Motion by Commissioner Burgess seconded by Commissioner Calhoun to adopt the agenda as printed, motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, Weaver and Whiddon voting in favor of the motion.

Motion by Commissioner Denham seconded by Commissioner Burgess to approve financial information for October 2021 as presented, motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, Weaver and Whiddon voting in favor of the motion.

Motion by Commissioner Denham seconded by Commissioner Burgess to approve minutes of previous meeting with corrections, motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, Weaver and Whiddon voting in favor of the motion.

Motion by Commissioner Denham seconded by Commissioner Burgess to absorb the increase from Solid Waste Management Authority for residential pick up of \$22.06 per container and \$.25 for residential oil/energy per container effective January 1, 2022, motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, and Weaver voting in favor of the motion. Commissioner Whiddon opposed the motion.

Motion by Commissioner Calhoun seconded by Commissioner Burgess to approve board appointment for Mrs. Cherysh Green-Caldwell to the Region 4 Regional Advisory Council for Turner County, motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, Weaver and Whiddon voting in favor of the motion.

Motion by Commissioner Burgess seconded by Commissioner Calhoun to table item # 3 "Consider appointing Mrs. Sylvia Lamb to the Board of Assessors," motion passed with

Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun and Whiddon voting in favor of the motion. Commissioners Denham and Weaver opposed the motion.

Motion by Commissioner Burgess seconded by Commissioner Calhoun to adopt Resolution # 2022-01-01 to set and publish qualification fees for county offices for the 2022 Elections and authorize the Chairman to sign resolution on behalf of the County, motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, Weaver and Whiddon voting in favor of the motion.

Motion by Commissioner Calhoun seconded by Commissioner Burgess to approve Draft 2 re-districting map for Turner County, motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, Weaver and Whiddon voting in favor of the motion.

Motion by Commissioner Burgess seconded by Commissioner Calhoun to adopt Resolution #2022-01-02 for amendment and restatement of Defined Contribution Plan for Senior Management Employee of Turner County and authorize the Chairman to sign resolution on behalf of the County, motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, Weaver and Whiddon voting in favor of the motion.

Motion by Commissioner Burgess seconded by Commissioner Calhoun to adopt Resolution #2022-01-03 supporting the reform to Georgia's Annexation dispute resolution law and authorize the Chairman to sign resolution on behalf of the County, motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, Weaver and Whiddon voting in favor of the motion.

Motion by Commissioner Burgess seconded by Commissioner Calhoun to approve GDOT Low Impact Bridge Program for Turner County, motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, Weaver and Whiddon voting in favor of the motion.

Motion by Commissioner Burgess seconded by Commissioner Calhoun to approve authorization for Sheriff Andy Hester to seek outside legal counsel for an on-going investigation, motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, and Weaver voting in favor of the motion. Commissioner Whiddon opposed the motion.

Motion by Commissioner Calhoun seconded by Commissioner Burgess to approve Jail Fund Expenditure for Firewall, motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, and Weaver voting in favor of the motion. Commissioner Whiddon opposed the motion.

Motion by Commissioner Burgess seconded by Commissioner Calhoun to approve Executive Session meetings for the following: October 26, 2021, November 30, 2021, December 7, 2021, and December 28, 2021, as printed, motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, Weaver and Whiddon voting in favor of the motion.

Motion by Commissioner Calhoun seconded by Commissioner Burgess to adjourn the meeting at 6:46 p.m.

Dana L	. Whiddon, Madam Chair	-
Attest:		
·	Latrice L. Wilson, County Clerk	_