The Turner County Board of Commissioners met on Tuesday, October 4, 2022, at 6:00 p.m. at the Turner County Agricultural Center for the Monthly Board Meeting with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, Weaver and Whiddon present. Staff present were Latrice Wilson, County Clerk and Brent Hyde, County Attorney. Others present were Ben Baker, Editor of the Wiregrass Farmer, Janet Winter, Elections Superintendent, Raymond Poore, Chief Deputy Charles Dean, Mandy Cole, Lynn Davis, Extension Coordinator, Mr. Jim Whiddon, Mark Robinson, Fire Chief/EMA Director, Mr. Scotty Raines and Family, and Mr. Taylor.

Madam Chair Whiddon called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

Mr. Ben Baker gave the invocation.

Pledge of Allegiance.

Motion by Commissioner Denham seconded by Commissioner Calhoun to adopt the agenda as printed, motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, Weaver and Whiddon voting in favor of the motion.

Motion by Commissioner Denham seconded by Commissioner Burgess to approve minutes of previous meetings as presented, motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, Weaver and Whiddon voting in favor of the motion.

Public Comments: There were none.

Proclamation: The board of Commissioners presented a proclamation to Scotty Raines and his family for being Farmer of the Year.

Motion by Commissioner Calhoun seconded by Commissioner Burgess to adopt Resolution #2022-09-01 setting the 2022 tax levy for maintenance and operation of county affairs at 1.5984 mills and for maintenance and operation of public schools in Turner County at 1.5973 mills (total of 31.957 mills) for tax year 2022 and authorize the Chair to sign resolution on behalf of the County.

Motion by Commissioner Denham seconded by Commissioner Calhoun to pay \$150,000 as the contribution amount for Turner County Defined Benefit Plan for 2022-2023 budget year, motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, and Weaver voting in favor of the motion. Commissioner Whiddon opposed the motion.

Motion by Commissioner Calhoun seconded by Commissioner Denham to accept bid from Chapman's Lawn Service in the amount of \$64,800 for Grass Cutting Services for Turner County, motion passed with Commissioner Calhoun, Denham, and Whiddon voting in favor of the motion. Commissioner Burgess and Weaver opposed the motion.

Motion by Commissioner Calhoun second by Commissioner Burgess to move forward with third party provider contingent on Solid Waste bids, motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun and Whiddon voting in favor of the motion. Commissioner Denham and Weaver opposed the motion.

Motion by Commissioner Calhoun seconded by Commissioner Denham to postpone hiring a County Manager until April of next year, motion did not pass. Commissioners Calhoun and Denham voted in favor of the motion. Commissioners Burgess, Weaver and Whiddon opposed the motion.

Motion by Commissioner Denham seconded by Commissioner Burgess to not hire a parttime CFO but to hire a County Manager with a finance background, motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, Weaver and Whiddon voting in favor of the motion.

County Manager Comments: None County Attorney Comments: None

Public Comments: None

Motion by Commissioner Whiddon seconded by Commissioner Calhoun to go into closed session at 6:16 p.m. to discuss personnel and real estate, motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, Weaver and Whiddon voting in favor of the motion.

Motion by Commissioner Burgess seconded by Commissioner Calhoun to return to the regular meeting at 6:34 p.m., motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, Weaver and Whiddon voting in favor of the motion.

Motion by Commissioner Denham seconded by Commissioner Burgess to deed the Access Road that is connected to Carter Road that runs parallel to I-75 to Mr. Jay Short, motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, Weaver and Whiddon voting in favor of the motion.

	Madam Chair Whiddon adjourned the meeting at 6:35 p.m.
Dana L	Whiddon, Madam Chair
Attest:	
	Latrice L. Wilson, County Clerk