The Turner County Board of Commissioners met on Tuesday, May 31, 2022, at 6:00 p.m. at the Turner County Agricultural Center for the monthly Work Session Meeting with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, Denham, and Whiddon present. Commissioner Weaver was not present. Staff present were Latrice Wilson, County Clerk and Brent Hyde, County Attorney was present. Others were Robby Royal, EMS Director, Sheriff Andy Hester, Tia Hester, Ben Baker, Editor of the Wiregrass Farmer, Janet Winter, Elections Superintendent, Mandy Cole, Mark Robinson, Fire Chief/EMA Director, Clifford Jordan, Recreation Director, Dustin Beaty, Public Works Director, Magistrate Judge Blake Christian, Jim Lumpkin, Coroner, Ben McCurdy, Timerie Podell and Latoya Dwight, Arista Representatives.

Madam Chair Whiddon called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

Mr. Ben Baker gave the invocation.

Pledge of Allegiance

Motion by Commissioner Calhoun seconded by Commissioner Burgess to adopt the agenda as printed, motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, and Denham voting in favor of the motion.

Timerie Podell, Arista Representative, spoke on Turner County Medical Insurance Renewal for FY 2022-2023.

Sheriff Andy Hester spoke on RMS/JMS/Livescan/CAD/GCIC equipment for Turner County Sheriff's Office and E-911.

Mark Robinson, Fire Chief, spoke on turn out gear for Fire Department.

Commissioners discussed bids for 2022 LMIG Project for resurfacing improvements to Roby Reeves, Clements Chapel Road, and Warwick Highway.

Commissioners discussed Georgia Indigent Defense Services Agreement for FY 2022-2023.

Commissioners discussed appointment for Robby Royal, EMS Director, to represent Turner County on the Southwest Georgia Region 8 EMS Council for a term of three years.

Commissioners discussed FY 2021 Audit Report.

County Manager Comments: Commissioner Denham spoke stating the elevator at the Courthouse needed to be fix and the cost is very expensive.

Motion by Commissioner Calhoun seconded by Commissioner Denham to go into Executive Session at 6:32 p.m. to discuss personnel, motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, and Denham voting in favor of the motion.

Motion by Commissioner Calhoun seconded by Commissioner Burgess to return to the regular meeting at 6:44 p.m., motion passed with Commissioners Burgess, Calhoun, and Denham voting in favor of the motion.

Madam Chair Whiddon adjourned the meeting at 6:44 p.m.

Dana L. Whiddon, Madam Chair
Attest:
Latrice L. Wilson, County Clerk